Behind The Wheel

For some people getting a driving a license is easy. In fact, when I was in high school, I remember my mum getting her driving license without learning how to drive!

Where I live, not everyone is fortunate enough to pass their final road test for the first time. Unless you are an experienced driver, the chances of you passing the test is very slim. I had to take 40 classes because I didn’t have any experience driving as opposed to 20 classes for experienced students. If you fail, you have to take 8 classes more before you can take the test again.

When I failed the first time, I felt really sad and disappointed because I knew how to control the car and all the traffic rules, but because I was very nervous and worried that I might fail, as soon as I got out from the parking lot, I made a mistake by going into the wrong lane. You are normally allowed to make 11 mistakes, however in my case it was considered a serious enough mistake for an immediate fail.

I felt pretty bad because I thought the decision was unjust. However, on my way home the bus driver from the driving institute asked me why I failed. I told him about being nervous and he then asked me, “Why?? Are you scared of the examiner? What is she gonna do with you? Is she going to kill you?”  It made me realize that the examiner was just doing her job to keep us safe and I should be thankful. Even if I knew how to drive, if I was not a safe driver, she made the right decision to fail me and I should not feel bad about it. I realized that it would take a lot more practice before I became confident on the road, and if taking more than 40 classes is what it would take to keep myself, my loved ones and other people away from danger, so be it.

After another 8 classes I tried again. I calmed myself and thought that I should focus on driving safely than thinking about the “what ifs” and lo, and behold! I passed! ♥

What it felt like at that moment

About therealcupkate

Wife. Daughter. Sister. Designer. Amateur baker. In that order. View all posts by therealcupkate

Leave a Reply

